A BIG BIG ROOM FULL OF EVERYBODY’S HOPE

© Amit Noy

Sun 05.05.24, 19:30

Mon 06.05.24, 19:30

An intergenerational production of Amit Noy

Tickets 05.05.
Tickets 06.05.

A BIG BIG ROOM FULL OF EVERYBODY’S HOPE is performed by three generations of a single family. Through language, movement, and song, the piece offers choreographies for living in the aftermath of violence. A BIG BIG ROOM FULL OF EVERYBODY’S HOPE is performed by three generations of a single family. Through language, movement, and song, the piece offers choreographies for living in the aftermath of violence. A BIG BIG ROOM FULL OF EVERYBODY’S HOPE takes up social and cultural histories that are embedded in the performers’ lives, only to ask: what is the meeting place between pain and ambivalence? The Holocaust, the history of classical ballet, and the experience of Obsessive Compulsive Disorder are regarded not only as personal experience, but also as objects of potential transformation.

Created by Amit Noy, the piece is performed alongside his teenage sister, two parents, and grandmother. Since 2020, Noy has been creating choreographic experiments with his family members, in order to study the complexities of embodied relation. How do bodies move together, when some have given birth to others? How does the imprint of experience pass from generation to generation? In A BIG BIG ROOM FULL OF EVERYBODY’S HOPE, past, present, and future times live concurrently, held between the bodies of the performers themselves.

Amit Noy is a dancer, choreographer, and writer. He grew up in Aotearoa New Zealand and Hawai'i to Mexican and Jewish parents. At present, he lives and works in Marseille, France. In 2022, Amit received the Pina Bausch Fellowship for Dance and Choreography to study with Miguel Gutierrez and Deborah Hay. He was awarded a Springboard prize by the Arts Foundation of New Zealand in 2023 and was a finalist in the 2022 edition of Danse Élargie.

Credits:
Created by: Amit Noy
Co-performers: Maytal Noy, Ilan Noy, Liora Noy, and Belina Neuberger
Codirection, dramaturgy: Jo Randerson
Lighting design: Zeynep Kepekli
Costume design: Steven Junil Park
Outside eye: Miguel Gutierrez
Original sound design: Maayan Tsadka
Additional music: Igor Stravinsky, Haim Moshe, Rodgers and Hammerstein, Stephen Schwartz
Sound/video technician: Fabien Minez
Diffusion: Fanny Virelizier
Production, administration: Emmanuelle Taccard

Coproduction: Théâtre de la Ville Paris, CCN-Ballet national de Marseille “accueil studio” / Ministère de la Culture, Pina Bausch Zentrum, Charleroi Danse: Centre Chorégraphique de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles, Fondation Szloma Albam Stiftung, Creative New Zealand. With the support of SACD – Danse élargie Premiere: September 7th, 2023 – Theatre des Abbesses

With the kind support of the Institut français and the French Ministry of Culture.

A BIG BIG ROOM FULL OF EVERYBODY’S HOPE

© Amit Noy

So 05.05.24, 19:30

Mo 06.05.24, 19:30

Ein generationsübergreifendes Stück von Amit Noy

Tickets 05.05.
Tickets 06.05.

A BIG BIG ROOM FULL OF EVERYBODY’S HOPE (Ein großer großer Raum voll der Hoffnung aller) wird von drei Generationen einer einzigen Familie aufgeführt. Mit Text, Bewegung und Gesang bietet das Stück Choreografien für ein Leben nach der Gewalt. A BIG BIG ROOM FULL OF EVERYBODY’S HOPE beschäftigt sich mit den sozialen und kulturellen Gegebenheiten, die im Leben der Darsteller und Darstellerinnen eine Rolle spielen, um dann zu fragen: Wo treffen Schmerz und Ambivalenz aufeinander? Der Holocaust, die Geschichte des klassischen Balletts, die Zwangsneurose – sie werden nicht nur aus dem Blickwinkel der persönlichen Erfahrung betrachtet, sondern auch als Objekte mit Transformationspotential.

Das Stück wurde von Amit Noy geschaffen, der es zusammen mit seiner Schwester (die im Teenageralter ist), seinen beiden Eltern und seiner Großmutter aufführt. Seit 2020 unternimmt Noy choreographische Experimente mit seinen Familienmitgliedern und erforscht die Komplexität verkörperter Verwandtschaft. Wie bewegen sich Körper miteinander, wenn einige von ihnen andere zur Welt gebracht haben? Wie werden Erfahrungen von Generation zu Generation weitergegeben? In A BIG BIG ROOM FULL OF EVERYBODY’S HOPE sind vergangene, gegenwärtige und zukünftige Zeiten in den Körpern der Darsteller und Darstellerinnen präsent.

Amit Noy ist Tänzer, Choreograf und Schriftsteller. Er wuchs als Sohn mexikanischer und jüdischer Eltern in Aotearoa, Neuseeland und Hawai'i auf. Zurzeit lebt und arbeitet er in Marseille, Frankreich. Im Jahr 2022 erhielt Amit das Pina Bausch Fellowship für Tanz und Choreografie, um bei Miguel Gutierrez und Deborah Hay zu studieren. Im Jahr 2023 wurde er mit dem Springboard-Preis der Arts Foundation of New Zealand ausgezeichnet und war Finalist bei der Ausgabe 2022 von Danse Élargie.

Credits:
Von: Amit Noy
Mit: Maytal Noy, Ilan Noy, Liora Noy und Belina Neuberger
Ko-regie und Dramaturgie: Jo Randerson
Lichtdesign: Zeynep Kepekli
Kostümdesign: Steven Junil Park
Outside Eye: Miguel Gutierrez
Original-Sounddesign: Maayan Tsadka

Weitere Musik von: Igor Stravinsky, Haim Moshe, Rodgers and Hammerstein, Stephen Schwartz Sound- und Videotechnik: Fabien Minez Vertrieb: Fanny Virelizier Produktion und Verwaltung: Emmanuelle Taccard Koproduktion: Théâtre de la Ville Paris, CCN-Ballet national de Marseille “accueil studio” / Ministère de la Culture, Pina Bausch Zentrum, Charleroi Danse: Centre Chorégraphique de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles, Fondation Szloma Albam Stiftung, Creative New Zealand. Gefördert von SACD – Danse élargie Premiere: 7. September 2023, Théâtre des Abbesses

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung des Institut français und des französischen Ministeriums für Kultur.